Monday, October 19, 2009

Kaada - Music For Moviebikers (2006)

John Erik Kaada is a Norwegian musician that primarily composes film scores, with the occasional solo release on Mike Patton's Ipecac Records. His most recent venture outside of films, Music for Moviebikers, is not a film score despite it's title. It is, however, music that would fit in extremely well with that of a dramatic film, creating atmosphere and utilizing an ensemble of over 20 musicians and various instruments, both traditional and classical-oriented as well as strange and of Kaada's very own creation. While modest and relatively calm, there is no doubt that there is a lot taking place in each song; behind the familiar swelling of strings and piano lie plenty of unique sounds and instrumentation, all focused on creating soft compositions that evoke powerful emotions. Sometimes sad, always beautiful - I recommend this to anyone interested in the film scores out there which transcend minimalism and simple background noise and carry themselves just fine when played seperately from picture. With little effort and assistance from drugs, one may close their eyes and create their own movie to this album. Tracks such as "From Here On It Got Rough", "Julia Pastrana" and "Celibate" deserve careful listens in particular, as these may be among the most beautiful tracks here. One can only hope that future solo albums from Kaada will be as profound!

1. Smiger
2. Mainstreaming
3. From Here On It Got Rough
4. Spindle
5. The Mosquito and the Abandoned Old Woman
6. Julia Pastrana
7. No Man's Land
8. Daily Living
9. The Small Stuff
10. Celibate
11. Retirement Community
12. Birds of Prey
13. In Hora Mortis

Download (78.63)